Bonne St. Valentin/Joyeuse St. Valentin – Happy Valentine’s Day

Je t’aime. – I love you.

Je t’adore. -I adore you.

Je pense à toi. – I’m thinking of you.

Sois mon valentin. – Be my Valentine (said to a man)

Sois ma valentine. – Be my Valentine (said to a woman)

Les fleurs – flowers

La rose – rose

Le chocolat – chocolate

Le coeur – heart

Le baiser – kiss

Cupidon – Cupid

French Terms of Endearment

Here are just a few terms of endearment:

Mon amour – my love

Mon ange – my angel

Mon chéri – my dear (said to a man)

Ma chérie – my dear (said to a woman)

Mon trésor – my treasure

Ma biche – my doe

Mon petit chou – my little cabbage

Ma puce – my flea (that’s right . . . flea!)

French Poetry

Partons / dans un baiser / pour un monde inconnu — Let’s leave / in a kiss / for an unknown world — by Alfred de Musset

Chaque jour je t’aime davantage / aujourd’hui plus qu’hier / et bien moins que demain — Each day I love you more / today more than yesterday / and much less than tomorrow — by Rosemonde Gérard

L’amour est la poésie des sens — Love is the poetry of the senses — by Honoré de Balzac

L’amour n’est pas seulement un sentiment / il est un art aussi — Love is not only a feeling / it is also an art — by Honoré de Balzac

Voici des fruits, des fleurs / des feuilles et des branches / et puis voici mon coeur / qui ne bat que pour vous — Here are fruits, flowers / leaves and branches / and then here is my heart / that beats only for you — by Paul Verlaine

L’amour n’est rien d’autre que la suprême poésie de la nature — Love is nothing other than the supreme poetry of nature — Novalis