Le Futur Simple:

formation 
The ‘simple’ future (le futur) is so-named because it is a one-word tense. In other words, its formation is simple because there is no auxiliary. 

The endings for the simple future are: -ai-as-a-ons-ez-ont. The future stem for -er and -ir verbs is the infinitive. For regular -re verbs, the stem is the infinitive minus the final e. In all cases, the future stem ends in -r: this sound characterizes the future and the conditional.The French simple future tense is generally translated into English with the modal auxiliary ‘will.’ 

Listen carefully to the future conjugation of regular -er verbs, where the e of the infinitive changes in pronunciation. 

 

nager  ‘to swim’

je nagerai, I will swim

nous nagerons, we will swim

tu nageras, you will swim

vous nagerez, you will swim

il, elle / on nagera,
he, she (it) / one will swim

ils / elles nageront, they will swim

Some -er verbs with spelling changes in the present form their future regularly, that is, their future stem is the infinitive. These include verbs like préférer (je préférerai), manger (je mangerai) and commencer (je commencerai). Other -er verbs with spelling changes in the present (appeleremployeracheter) have irregular future stems. 

 

réfléchir  ‘to think’

je réfléchirai, I will think

nous réfléchirons, we will think

tu réfléchiras, you will think

vous réfléchirez, you will think

il, elle / on réfléchira, he, she (it) / one will think

ils / elles réfléchiront, they will think

 

 

rendre  ‘to give back’

je rendrai, I will give back

nous rendrons, we will give back

tu rendras, you will give back

vous rendrez, you will give back

il, elle / on rendra, he, she (it) / one will give back

ils / elles rendront, they will give back

Many verbs which are irregular in the present tense have regular formations in the future. Their future stems are the infinitive or the infinitive minus the final e. Such verbs include sortir (je sortirai), partir (je partirai), dormir (je dormirai), boire (je boirai), dire (je dirai), écrire (j’écrirai), lire (je lirai), mettre (je mettrai), prendre (je prendrai), and suivre (je suivrai). 

uses 
The simple future is used to refer to future events, that is, to make predictions. It is more formal than the immediate future, although both tenses may be used in most contexts.

Irregular future stems 
Some irregular verbs also have irregular future stems. Nevertheless, the future endings are the same for all verbs: -ai-as-a-ons-ez-ont. The future stem for the verb être is ser- and the future stem for the verb avoir isaur-

 

être  ‘to be’

je serai, I will be

nous serons, we will be

tu seras, you will be

vous serez, you will be

il, elle / on sera, he, she (it) / one will be

ils / elles seront, they will be

 

 

avoir  ‘to have’

j’aurai, I will have

nous aurons, we will have

tu auras, you will have

vous aurez, you will have

il, elle / on aura, he, she (it) / one will have

ils / elles auront, they will have

Here are the most common verbs that have irregular future stems: 

 

infinitive

stem

future

translation

aller

ir-

j’irai

I will go

courir

courr-

je courrai

I will run

devoir

devr-

je devrai

I will be obliged to

envoyer

enverr-

j’enverrai

I will send

faire

fer-

je ferai

I will do

falloir

faudr-

il faudra

it will be necessary

mourir

mourr-

je mourrai

I will die

obtenir

obtiendr-

j’obtiendrai

I will obtain

pleuvoir

pleuvr-

il pleuvra

it will rain

pouvoir

pourr-

je pourrai

I will be able

recevoir

recevr-

je recevrai

I will receive

savoir

saur-

je saurai

I will know

tenir

tiendr-

je tiendrai

I will hold

venir

viendr-

je viendrai

I will come

voir

verr-

je verrai

I will see

vouloir

voudr-

je voudrai

I will want

future stems of verbs with spelling changes 
Verbs with spelling changes like appeleremployer, and acheter add -r to the present tense je form to create their future stems: 

 

present tense

stem

future

translation

j’appelle

appeller-

j’appellerai

I will call

j’emploie

emploier-

j’emploierai

I will use

j’achète

achèter-

j’achèterai

I will buy

Other -er verbs verbs with spelling changes including préférermanger, and commencer have regular futurestems.