Bonjour!

Notes from today’s class!

Pronominal verbs use subject and object pronouns that refer to the same person or thing. So:

  • Je me réveille: I wake up
  • Tu te lèves: You get up
  • Elle se brosse les cheveux: She brushes her hair
  • Nous nous coiffons: We do our hair
  • Vous vous habillez: You get dressed
  • Ils se douchent: They take a shower

 

    Pronominal verbs can of course be used in all tenses and moods. So:

  • Je me réveille: I wake up
  • Je me réveillais: I was waking up, I used to wake up
  • Je me suis réveillé(e): I woke up
  • Je m’étais réveillé(e): I had woken up
  • Je me réveillerai: I will wake up
  • Je me serai réveillé(e): I will have woken up
  • Je me réveillerais: I would wake up
  • Je me serais réveillé(e): I would have woken up.
  • Il faut que je me réveille avant sept heures: I have to wake up before seven.
  • Il a peur que je me sois réveillé(e) trop tard: He’s afraid that I woke up too late.
  • Ils ont fait le petit déjeuner avant de me réveiller: They made breakfast before waking me up.
  • Ils ont fait le petit déjeuner après m’être réveillé(e): They made breakfast after waking me up.

 

 When using a negative, put ne just before the object pronoun (mete, etc.) and the second part of the negation (for instance pasplus, or jamais) right after the first verb. So:

  • Je ne me réveille pas: I don’t wake up
  • Je ne me suis plus réveillé(e) cette nuit-là: I didn’t wake up any more that nuit.
  • Il a peur que je ne me sois jamais réveillé(e) frais et dispos/fraîche et dispose: He’s afraid that I never woke up raring to go.